University of California, Los Angeles About Us   |   Diversity and Inclusion  |   Contact Us   |   Campus Directory   |   Giving   |   Maps/Directions
Shaping the Future

Eli & Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine & Stem Cell Research

The Eli & Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine & Stem Cell Research is a collaboration of the David Geffen School of Medicine , UCLA's Jonsson Cancer Center , the Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science , and the UCLA College . Each collaborator brings leading-edge technologies to the table: integrated microfluidics to aid in cell isolation, microarrays and shape-encoded particle approaches for gene expression analysis, proteomics using advanced mass spectroscopy, large-scale computational facilities for bioinformatics, and world-class multi-modality imaging facilities for analysis of stem cell therapies in laboratory models and, ultimately, in patients enrolled in clinical trials.
The UCLA Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Medicine will focus its embryonic and adult stem cell research in three areas:
  • HIV : UCLA scientists are exploring how the AIDS virus blocks stem cell function, as well as stem cell approaches to combating HIV disease. One potential therapeutic example includes inserting antiviral genes into blood-forming stem cells and reintroducing them into the body. As these blood cells develop, the gene protects the mature cell against HIV infection. The UCLA AIDS Institute already has completed a Phase I clinical trial using adult stem cells. Embryonic stem cells also could be engineered for this strategy to avoid the need for isolating patients' cells, ease transplantation and increase clinical usefulness.
  • Cancer : Research will seek to shed more light on cancer stem cells and how they develop. Not much is known about cancer stem cells and new findings may lead to therapies that target cell signaling pathways specific for cancer stem cells. These therapies hone in on what is broken in a cancer cell while leaving the healthy tissue intact. Several Jonsson Cancer Center researchers already are doing stem cell research in laboratories, and that work will be folded into the institute.
  • Neurological disorders : UCLA researchers are studying many aspects of the roles that stem cells may play in healing neurological disorders, including stroke, spinal cord injury, brain tumors, multiple sclerosis and genetic diseases. Future studies will include investigation of stem cell biology and development, as well as therapeutic-based research using adult and embryonic stem cells.
    Director: Owen Witte, M.D. Co-Director: Judy Gasson, Ph.D. Associate Academic Director: Jerome Zack, Ph.D. Associate Academic Director: Randolph Wall, Ph.D. Associate Academic Director: Kenneth Dorshkind, Ph.D. Associate Academic Director: Yi Sun, Ph.D.
    VIDEO: Broad Center for Stem Cell Research (3:43 min)
  • Telephone Number
    (310) 825-4958 Information

    Eli & Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine & Stem Cell Research website

    Centers:

     
    Broad Stem Cell Center Bioengineering Core

    Faculty:

    John S. Adams
    jsadams@mednet.ucla.edu
    Utpal Banerjee
    banerjee@mbi.ucla.edu
    James Byrne
    jbyrne@mednet.ucla.edu
    Heather Christofk
    hchristofk@mednet.ucla.edu
    Amander Clark
    clarka@ucla.edu
    Gay Crooks
    gcrooks@mednet.ucla.edu
    Ken Dorshkind
    kdorshki@mednet.ucla.edu
    Bruce Dunn
    bdunn@ucla.edu
    Guoping Fan
    gfan@mednet.ucla.edu
    Judy Gasson
    jgasson@mednet.ucla.edu
    Brigitte Gomperts
    bgomperts@mednet.ucla.edu
    Jiaoti Huang
    jiaotihuang@mednet.ucla.edu
    Steve Jacobsen
    jacobsen@ucla.edu
    Nori Kasahara
    nkasahara@mednet.ucla.edu
    Donald Kohn
    dkohn@mednet.ucla.edu
    Harley Kornblum
    harley@ucla.edu
    Siavash Kurdistani
    skurdistani@mednet.ucla.edu
    William Lowry
    blowry@mcdb.ucla.edu
    Robb MacLellan
    rmaclellan@mednet.ucla.edu
    Sanaz Memarzadeh
    smemarzadeh@mednet.ucla.edu
    Hanna Mikkola
    hmikkola@mcdb.ucla.edu
    Paul Mischel
    pmischel@mednet.ucla.edu
    Austin Nakano
    anakano@ucla.edu
    Ben Novitch
    bnovitch@ucla.edu
    Matteo Pellegrini
    matteop@mcdb.ucla.edu
    Kathrin Plath
    kplath@mednet.ucla.edu
    April Pyle
    apyle@mednet.ucla.edu
    Dinesh Rao
    drao@mednet.ucla.edu
    Antoni Ribas
    aribas@mednet.ucla.edu
    Yi Sun
    ysun@mednet.ucla.edu
    Michael Teitell
    mteitell@mednet.ucla.edu
    Hsian-Rong Tseng
    hrtseng@mednet.ucla.edu
    Randolph Wall
    rwall@mbi.ucla.edu
    Owen Witte
    owenwitte@mednet.ucla.edu
    Hong Wu
    hwu@mednet.ucla.edu
    Jerome Zack
    jzack@ucla.edu
    UCLA    |    Terms & Conditions    |    Disability Resources    |    UC Regents